2007/08 auto vs manual - Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum
Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum, Photos, Directory

Go Back   Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum > General Patrol Forums > Buying a Nissan Patrol

Patrol4x4.com is the premier Nissan Patrol Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2017, 07:18 PM

Default 2007/08 auto vs manual

Hi, I'm new to 4x4ing and I'm looking at buying a Patrol. I've come across one that ticks all the boxes, but its an auto. Now I love having an auto to drive around the city, but is there any preference when going offroad?

I'm mainly going to be using it on the highway with a bit of sand bashing. Nothing too extreme...yet.

What tests can be done during a test drive and what precautions need to be taken to prolong an autos life?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-01-2017, 08:14 PM
Rogue

Thanked 1,786 Times in 1,294 Posts
Garage

Welcome to the forum!

Nothing wrong with an auto on sand, they can get a bit warm when worked hard, but do good. In my opinion, the only time an auto doesn't really cut the mustard offroad is in mountainous areas where you really want engine braking.

I used to have Patrols

Must be beer o'clock
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Old 03-01-2017, 08:20 PM

Garage

Auto is great in the high country. You can crawl over obstacles without burning out the clutch.
When offroad, drive like a manual (selecting gears) and the transmission will not overheat. If getting extra gauges like boost and EGT, get a transmission temp gauge as well.

My Rig My Life

Nissan 4x4 Club Vic

Old 03-01-2017, 09:22 PM

If you really want great off road performance from the auto, fit a nomad valve body and full synthetic fluid.