Help keep blowing fuses - Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum
Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum, Photos, Directory

 


Go Back   Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum > Nissan Patrol and Safari Models > Nissan Patrol GQ/Y60 & Ford Maverick

Patrol4x4.com is the premier Nissan Patrol Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30-09-2011, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help keep blowing fuses

Hi guys on 2.8 gq patrol my dash instrument lights or tail lights arnt working what fuse do I replace to get the dash lights to work????
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 30-09-2011, 06:16 AM
gq_short_ass's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 698
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If your blowing fuses you should fix the problem if the tail lights aren't working a common cause is usually a short at the trailer plug or wiring.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-09-2011, 06:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I put a after market cd player yesterday nd after I put it into the standard wiring harness it started blowing fuses :/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-09-2011, 06:50 AM
gq_short_ass's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 698
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah ok then start with that then your probably drawing 2 much current from the wires you tapped into so the fuse blows or you have a short in your wiring.
Cigarrete lighter supply should be more then enough amps for any car stereo.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-09-2011, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moranbah, Central Qld
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There's a wire that powers up when you turn your headlights on, it dims the lights on the factory stereo, I think it's a pink/black wire. When I wired my new head unit up, I mistook this wire for an earth and continually blew the same fuse you are. I think the factory unit just earths through the case from memory.

Dave.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-09-2011, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Europe, Poland, Kraków
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How did You earth it? Into the loom or to the body?
I earthed a CB to the loom before and it was blowing the fuse for dash/tails.
Rewired the earth to the body and its all working finr.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-09-2011, 08:20 AM
ITS A FORD NOT A NISSAN's Avatar
The nutty professor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: carina hts brisbane
Posts: 8,262
Thanks: 8
Thanked 60 Times in 47 Posts
Garage
Default

as said above , change the earth you used for the head unit as the one you used is the radio light which gives a reading of an earth when the lights are off

easy fix
__________________
Work wanted, I do handy man work, mechanical repairs and pest control, no job to big or small, just call 0403037065
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-09-2011, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moranbah, Central Qld
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ITS A FORD NOT A NISSAN View Post
as said above , change the earth you used for the head unit as the one you used is the radio light which gives a reading of an earth when the lights are off

easy fix
Yep, got me. I went over everything with the multi meter to find an earth, thought I had one, turns out it aint an earth after all

Dave.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-09-2011, 10:54 AM
gq_short_ass's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 698
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Funny one that got me was a metal panel on the right hand side above kick panel just thought ah it's metal good earth point wired everything up checked power etc.
Then realised it was plastic insulated through the clips doh homer simpson moment.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-09-2011, 08:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: east gippsland
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mine does the same mate!!! haha tail lamp fuse i think 10 or 15 amp fuse fixs it everytime =]=]
__________________
4 inchs of lift, 35 inchs of simexs, one straight pety engine with a 4 inch stainless snorkel, and soon to be 4 light forces up on the roof
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On







Subscribe in NewsGator Online


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.