Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
nissan patrol
272 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well a few weeks back I picked myself up this project - 1985 MK LWB SD33T. I looked for one for ages in Perth but the only ones I came across in my budget had severe rust throughout their bodies. This one too has some rust, but nothing compared to the others I looked at.

I was always concerned the roof will be too far gone and still fear it might be. The rest of the body has some rust but nothing I cant cut out and weld new sections in. Now I have cut into the roof to see the hidden damage and get some opinions if its repairable.

To get a little deep and meaningful, I want and NEED a project to keep me occupied and have been set on an MK/MQ for a while. I am a Veteran recovering from various mental health injuries from my service (PTSD etc) so this project is part of my recovery process.

I am not afraid of a challenge but at the same time am fully aware sometimes things cant be repaired. Now if you are still reading, what are your thoughts on the roof? I have a mig and am fairly confident in my welding.
I considered a GQ rood swap, but they all seem to have some amount of rust these days too and I dont want to end up chasing my tail with that one down the track.

Grille Plant Vehicle registration plate Vehicle Automotive lighting
Gauge Speedometer Odometer Measuring instrument Auto part
Motor vehicle Steering part Vehicle Steering wheel Wheel
Automotive parking light Tire Wheel Land vehicle Vehicle
Window Motor vehicle Fixture Automotive exterior Shade
Wood Fixture Automotive exterior Vehicle door Window
Vehicle Car Motor vehicle Hood Fixture
Hood Automotive tire Vehicle Motor vehicle Automotive lighting

·
I Have Imaginary Friends
Patrol Hybrid.
19,388 Posts
Did they come out as a soft top? Just an idea.

·
After Monday and Tuesday, even the calender says W
06 Td42ti coil cab chassis
19,819 Posts