Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
nissan rx patrol
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to the forum and to Patrols as well. I met one of our members on Mt Barney at the weekend who put me right on a couple of things but I need a bit more info. My RX 2.8 turbo blows white smoke on startup which I am told is a glow plug problem. The car is fitted with a button on the dash to warm them up. I have looked at the plugs and cyl 1,2 and 3 have a green band and the others a black one. Is this still the correct setup as I have the dashboard button? Reading other posts there seems to be some discussion as to the best plugs to buy, any advice welcome. I have only had the car a few weeks so I am working with what it had when I bought it, not what I have fitted.

·
Learned the hard way - RD28t out TD42 in
4,415 Posts
Hi Eric and welcome to this great place for 'trolls. You're truck has probably had a relay or glow control box failure in the past and has been fixed in a very simple and basic way - chuck the expensive Nissan stuff and fit a button ! OK this works, I recommend you find a recent thread on this called something like "fix RD28 glow problems forever"; that should give you a steer. You need to check the plugs and that they are all powered as a start.