Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
Nissan patrol gq
751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I'm fairly new to 4x4ing & went to the Glass House mountains just the other day in my 2" lifted GQ shorty with 33" tyres. I came across a track out there that I saw a plane looking GU patrol & a lifted Toyota ute go down. I walked over to the edge & looked down it & couldn't believe a 4x4 could get down it, it was as far as the eye could see steep & ruts everywhere. One of the 4x4s was rocking back & fourth looking like it was about to tip over.
Anyway my question is for the guys out there with the 2" to standard lifts with 33" or smaller tyres how radical a track have you been down. Also with rooftop tents or gear on the roof does that limit you to what tracks you will attempt ?

·
GHMBC #3
nissan patrol gq lwb,3"lift.
3,788 Posts
you are only limited by your diff pumpkin and traction in a patrol mate

·
Administrator
Y2KGUII ZD Wgn
48,868 Posts
I've done a bit of GlassHousing and other big tracks over the years, I've got a 3" lift and 265x75's and you will be surprised how far into the Mulga you can get with that and even a std vehicle, if setup correctly. Off course if you want to do Widowmaker then that is another story :).

·
GHMBC #3
nissan patrol gq lwb,3"lift.
3,788 Posts
yeah widowmaker and big red are the hard ones

·
Registered
Nissan patrol gq
751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
This track was near a enclosed power transformer & it looked like a widow maker to me LOL
It must take a good set of balls to commit to some of these tracks & not know what your in for till you complete them. Its not like you can turn around & go back. would be good to have a few chicken track days & slowly move into the harder stuff with 4x4ers that want to learn without smashing there trucks.

·
Registered
Nissan patrol gq
751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·