Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Nissan Patrol GU
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello people.
I'm kinda new to this hole 4x4 thing, so anyways i got a 99 2.8td. She's a decent thing and i hope to keep her that way but not very trust friendly when it comes to mechanics... sorry mechanics.
The jist is i got 35's pretty sure there's to lift in it and she scrubs/rubs hard, got some minor oils leak :evillaug: from a rubber pipe leading towards my turbo & already replaced the steering damper. Question is what can i do that not to cost effect. I've heard about spacers and stuff but do i have to get bigger springs and shocks ?
Any tips would be appreciated.
Cheers

Attachments

·
BORDERTREK 4X4 & FABRICATION
8,686 Posts
Where exactly do the tyres scrub and when?

·
Registered
Nissan Patrol GU
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Could say its about half a rotation from full lock on the thing that Hold the shocks ? (that makes a rumble sound like ancient stone doors from the movie). All the wheel arches have about 1 Inch scrubs marks from the inside of the tire's.

·
"Remember, you're unique... just like everyone els
nissan patrol
1,594 Posts
See if someonelocal will swap you a set of 33" tires. They won't scrub and the biggest change will be that 2.8 won't feel like a snail. 35's are more for the 4.2's so a set of 33's on the 2.8 will be a good mix of clearance and performance.

My 2 cents

·
Registered
nissan
342 Posts
Alternative to Goldtrol's advice is to get a proper 2 to 3" lift on the vehicle. At least then you can drive at a snails pace without scrubbing .....

·
bit cold out it seems
nissan
8,969 Posts
Could say its about half a rotation from full lock on the thing that Hold the shocks ? (that makes a rumble sound like ancient stone doors from the movie). All the wheel arches have about 1 Inch scrubs marks from the inside of the tire's.
I think thats your radius arm you are describing.