Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
445 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been running an Engal fridge for the past 10-12 years & I love it. I love it even more when I compare it to these ARB fridges that everyone in the UAE is buying now!
My mate bought his first ARB about two years ago....within a year the thermostat started to play up and the fridge went into freezer mode regardless of the settings.
He complained to ARB here and they gave him a new fridge because they knew that there had been an issue with the ARB/Waeco thermostat and they wanted to keep him happy.
Now after little over a year....the same problem has come back....freezer mode only!
You wouldn't expect to see the same problem on a product that's little over a year old & costs over $1000 would you?

Recently the plastic latch that secures the lid broke off.....ARB cried and cried and eventually gave him a replacement.

I've heard of three other ARB fridges that had the same issues....are they seeing this problem with the thermostats in Australia too? Whats being done about it?

Here's a good read from South Africa! Engel Fridge Dissapointment - 4x4 Community Forum

·
Registered
nissan patrol
1,397 Posts
First i have heard of this. I have had mine for about 2 years now and it cops a flogging, lives out on my ute tray in the rain,mud and dust. Not a single trouble yet!

·
Registered
nissan patrol
547 Posts
My workmate has had his for about 3 years now. No probs at the moment.

·
Rust is just natural weight reduction.
1986 SD33T SWB
10,990 Posts
Mine has been fine too. It's constantly on, and maintains a nice 5 degrees to keep the beer cool.

·
Registered
nissan y61
4,788 Posts
2 years old and not a issue my model is 78L. Its had a hard life in the back of trailer, few river crossings and electrical trailer fire and still going strong.

There is only one fridge in the world that is truly the best and thats National Luma.

·
Registered
nissan
445 Posts