Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Changed my master and slave recently as the slave had a leak and ever since I can't properly change gears. When the clutch is in it'll come back to neutral no problem but then won't go into any other gear unless the speed is perfect and it'll slide in like the old Crash Boxes.
Bled it 3 times. 2 times with the rear up. The clutch is only 4 months old. Every mechanic I've talked to said it'd just be air in the system but I'm sure it'd all be gone by now? Clutch is only about 5 months old, and I'm new to manuals so I'm at a loss here. I adjusted the clutch pedal to try and get more travel but had no luck. The slave moves the fork about 1.5cm and that's it. Doesn't look like it comes back far enough to disengage the clutch either.
So what're your thoughts? Faulty Slave/Master or Clutch issue?

I'm going to bleed it once more today and flush the lines just to make sure I've got no crap in their either. Also it changes gears fine when off or on aslong as I'm at a standstill.

EDIT: I've also changed the Gearbox oil, there was next to no Metal in there.

·
Registered
nissan
4,831 Posts
There's a good thread somewhere on here about bleeding a clutch, they are a real pig to get right, from memory your best to pressure bleed from slave cylinder bleed valve back to master cylinder
Adjustment of clutch pedal is really only a position thing, master cylinder travel is only so far which equals the amount of fluid into a slave to give you travel

·
Every dog has his day
2005 TD42 GUIV
18,456 Posts
Definately sounds like air, they can be a real bugger.