Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. Our car just returned from Nissan 2 days ago, following a routine service.
They discovered a coolant leak behind water pump, under alternator. Supposedly, gearbox has to come out for this to be checked/fixed.
They also found our injector pump moist from diesel underneath. They could not determine where it is coming from, but they did say it is rare for it to leak, as most damage is done internally. The car still runs perfectly fine and my scan gauge shows no codes or anything.

I'm not a mechanic, but having a quick look my self, I'd say, this could be a kill 2 birds with one stone job? As while they have the front ripped apart, they can replace the injector pump as well. Am I right to assume this, or is there a different way they get to the pump without gutting the whole front of the engine.

The other question is, the leaking pump, other then them failing inside, how common is the leak issue? Supposedly the timing cover coolant leak is very well embedded in the zd30 history. We are out of warranty so, I'm doing some homework. Nissans quote for this is $6000+, providing nothing failed on their mission to fix this.

Car is a 2010 STL, extremely stock, and has just clicked over 46,000.

Nathan.

·
Registered
nissan
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Just bumping this . This is a costly fix so I have to make a move soon. I think the pump is more important. Forgetting the coolant leak, how do they normally get to the pump ?

Thanks ahead. Nath.

·
Registered
778 Posts
If the leak is the inner timing cover, then there is not much more to go to do a pump. If its further out than that, then there is. It sounds like they are pulling the sump off by removing the gear box.

A pump leak might be sweating on the supply lines. Best to wash it off and recheck. Why do you have a leak at such low kms?

Andy

·
Registered
nissan
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #4