Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gday all im new to dual batterys so not realy sure how they work. I have just bought a 12000lb OX winch but only have the standard battery and the fella that i bought it off said i will need twin batterys to run it. so what do i get just a isolator and just run 2 batterys when winching or do i have to get some thing else?? I will be running the fridge only every now and then if that has to be taken into consideration.

cheers Sam

·
LED ZEPPELIN
1995 GQ TD42 NA
12,022 Posts
If you're going to do a lot of winching - fit dual starting batteries, rather than fitting a deep cycle as your second battery, as the winch will kill a deep cycle battery (they like to be discharged slowly).

If the winch is there 'just in case', make your second battery a deep cycle to run fridge and other accessories, and have it set up so that you can link the batteries when/if you run your starting battery down with the winch, to get your motor started again.

When winching, you want to use short duration pulls eg. 30 seconds, then run the motor for a minute or three, then winch for another 30 seconds. It gives the battery a breather and lets the winch cool down. It's worth fitting a battery monitor to ensure you don't completely drain your starting battery, although having the deep cycle there to link if needed will help there.

Where are you Sam? Derek Bestem in Brissy (aka ABR Sidewinder) is good with this stuff.

·
Registered
742 Posts
Hi cowboy, whether you use one or two batteries, both MUST BE cranking batteries, even if the second battery is only going to be use to jump start if you flatten or damage the main battery.

Again, whether you use one or two batteries, best practice when winching is to have your motor on high idle at all times, and winch for 60 seconds then rest for 90 seconds and repeat as many times as needed.