Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just thought I would share a few pics of my td42. It had a slight tick driving from karratha to perth. Assumed it was the tappets. Checked oil and got diesel about 200km from perth.
320k on the clock with a big turbo, 12mm etc.

Number 6 bigend.
Engine builder tells me that the number 6 squirter was blocked and the piston or something got hot. Put 7 cracks in the head. Melted number 6 bearing.
Water temp never went past half. Started blowing alot of smoke about 50k from home.

New td42 being built now :)

Attachments

·
Registered
nissan
220 Posts
Bad news mate sorry to hear

·
Registered
nissan
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
How would the oil supply to the bearing fail?
Crank looked ok to me but im an electrician.
I lost around 7L of oil in 200km out the exhaust.
apparently I cooked the **** out of the engine but the temp gauge never moved off of half. Never lost coolant. Didnt lose power. Pyro has never been above 500.

Anyway new engine, been told to get injectors and pump checked and then back for a tune.

·
Registered
nissan
321 Posts
Was it an NA TD42 or factory turbo originally?

·
BORDERTREK 4X4 & FABRICATION
8,549 Posts
crud in oil, too long between oil changes. Some of the oil gallerys are pretty small

·
Registered
nissan
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
180kw or something around there.
Almost made it to its 2nd oil change at 5,000km.
Doesnt really matter now. New engine shortly.
Driving a vdj79 til then. Not good for a tall person

·
Registered
nissan
336 Posts
Crank looked ok to me but im an electrician.
I lost around 7L of oil in 200km out the exhaust.
apparently I cooked the **** out of the engine but the temp gauge never moved off of half. Never lost coolant. Didnt lose power. Pyro has never been above 500.

Anyway new engine, been told to get injectors and pump checked and then back for a tune.