Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the title suggests I'm looking into buying a welder probably second hand and not sure what I should get. The only experience I've had is welding steel with a mig only once before so I'm a dead set beginner.
With that in mind I'd think that a mig would be a better option because it's cheaper to run and easier to use but I'd like to be able to weld Aluminium with it and I would prefer not to buy a mig and then having to sell it and buy a tig when I'm a bit better.

Are TIGs too hard to learn on or should it be alright?

any advice would be great thanks

·
Registered
Nissan
6,063 Posts
MIG.

Nothing against TIG but you'll be up and running actually making stuff much quicker with a MIG.

Cheers

Justin

·
Registered
nissan
508 Posts
Mig all the way for a home handy man type of thing. I'd say unless you plan on doing ALOT of aluminium or stainless a tig will be not hassle than it's worth. Don't forget you can get aluminium wire for your mig and depending what your doing you can get feed guns to suit the ally wire too.

Shane

·
Registered
3,614 Posts
You'll need a ac/dc tig to do aluminium and a good one is far from cheap. You can weld aluminum quite well with a mig when you master it.

·
Registered
nissan
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys it seems a mig is definitely the way to go, any advice on brands ect. are cheapo ebay ones just too crap to consider?

·
Rogue
nissan gu patrol
20,230 Posts
I'd start with an arc, then get a tig. Just my opinion

·
Registered
nissan/patrol
3,663 Posts
I would normally agree with everyone on this but I want a TIG now. If your a tightarse like me then having to buy a MIG then a TIG kinda pisses you off. Wish I just bought a TIG in the beginning and learnt with that. The options with tig are better.

I think if I bought a TIG the mig would never really come out again.