Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I’m a apprentice. And stuck between a rock and a hard place needing some help Befoure I go to far and create irreversible damage. So servicing me new factory turbo blacktop today and the gearbox filler plug is stuck real tight. I started by rounding it out with a half inch bar then heating it up and using a chisel and then a punch. Then decided to ask for help hoping it’s not too late. I’ve heard there is a propper tool you can buy. But is it too late for that. I don’t have access to a welder so any tips would be muchly appreciated. Cheers nick
8DC93224-AB86-42BF-BB01-38A5AEE2AB17.jpeg

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh yeah and I didn’t drain the oil yet cuz had the same problem with the diff but managed to get it with a chisel. So when I got to the gearbox I tried the filler Befoure touching the drain so the car is still drives

·
Administrator
GUII ZD30DI Wgn
46,342 Posts
How much depth do you still have inside the square? if nothing and you can't get any purchase on it you may be able to continue with a punch, a chisel will only cut it up more and you may finish up damaging the thread. Looks like there is nothing there to grab, good chance you may need to drill a hole to drain the oil then drill out the plug and clear the old thread with a tap.

·
Registered
Nissan Patrol GU
275 Posts
You have to spray the threaded portion with thread breaking fluid/rust penetrant. Let is soak in over a day, with repeated sparys, or so as the vehicle still drives. Patience is your best friend. I have found a good gripping and self tightening very large pipe wrench or the like will do the job if anything protruding to hold on to. A large punch, the right angle of attack and a larger hammer - use a steady hand.

·
Registered
1989 GQ TD42 wagon
2,239 Posts