Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Evening Gentlemen,

Bottom line up front: I have a number of accumulated issues which are preventing me from providing my 248,000 kilometre old GU the TLC it deserves.

Background

I am not a mechanical retard; I simply have limited experience and no local friends that can help me out with Patrols. In an attempt to learn the vehicle, I have conducted my own basic servicing successfully for a while now and lurked these forums for months.

This evening, I was conducting my second fuel filter change in conjunction with an oil/oil filter change. It went relatively successfully as I only had minor spillage; however, the filter would not prime. I pumped it close to a thousand times over an hour in between doing the oil change and other tasks to no avail. This is my pressing issue at present. My other issues alluded to in the title will be addressed as secondary matters.

Fuel filter priming

About six months ago I experienced difficulty maintaining a basic idle after not starting my vehicle for a week. This was fixed by priming the filter four to six times resulting in Robert being your Mother's brother. After resuming a more regular usage pattern, this issue subsided. I fear that I have found it again having disconnected the fuel lines this evening.

Having zero knowledge of how the fuel lines track along the vehicle, whether the IP is pre- or post-filter, et cetera, I removed the filter-out line and placed an old soft drink bottle underneath to attempt to witness flow without success. There are no visible leaks on the tarp or concrete which leads me to believe it is air. I cannot figure out where though.

I am not super comfortable tearing my fuel system apart without supervision, so advice is welcomed. I've read about fault finding with clear hoses; however, more research and workshop manual time will be required tomorrow.