Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
nissan patrol
1,549 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well here goes.
I'm new to turbo vehicles, an my patrol being the only diesel I've owned I have a few questions regarding increasing power of the great little motor Nissan made for us. I owned an r31 rb30e 5 speed skyline, that had guts but would drink the juice, is why I purchased the rd28t over the 3ltr.

I have just ordered an egr plate which should remove some of the turbo "lag" that is there. I not expecting 0-100 in under 10s, just wanting to push a few more ponys out of the motor without masses of cash. I know I can add exhaust an snorkel an push a fair bit more, just don't have that sorta cash ready to spend yet.

Boost- How to increase with stock setup?
Boost gauge- Do I need one, if so where do I hook it up to in the engine bay?
Wastegate- What is it an what does it do?
BOV- Don't need the flutter, but I read stock one limited to 10psi, yes no an how to improve?

I'm pretty clever in working things out, just can't find much info on the gq 2.8t an increased performance. The patrol is a daily driver an a weekend get away as well. I won't be towing big loads so I'm not even thinking about the td42, just want to increase it a little bit for added comfort.

·
Registered
nissan patrol
1,549 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well apparently I've worked out most of what I had asked. Spoken to a couple turbo heads an have explained most it.

Just wonder what the go is with the BOV. Why and what purpose do it serve? Would one with a flutter improve performance?

What boost gauge is of decent quality an not with a fortune, don't need a 5" gauge. Would prefer a smaller one I can put at the bottom of a pillar.

Cheers Rick.

·
Registered
nissan
68 Posts