Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
nissan patrol gq
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys got a couple of questions for you all.

firstly ive recently bent my driver side rear control arm and have decided to get some heavy duty ones. Was looking at the snake ones or the superior ones and decided to go superior but i dont know what the go is with the 10mm, 15mm and 20mm extended arms? I was just going to go iwth the standard lenght heavy duty fixed ones. The car only has a 3'' suspension lift with a 2'' body, are these arms going to be alright?

I was also looking at getting (when funds permit), some adjustable upper arms and adjustable front and rear panhards. was thinking of going tough dog for the panhards as they are relatively cheap but any suggestions on good uppers?

lastly i think ive snapped the drivers side cv and was looking to replace it this weekend. I can do the work as im a apprentice diesel mech but have never done this on a car is it a hard job or once youve got the hub off its relatively simple?

Sorry for the massive post but any help would be appreciated.
Cheers

·
Registered
53 Posts
The extended control arms are so you can line up your yoke to your gearbox when you lift the suspension & also line up thr rear wheel at full tilt in your wheel arch.As for the CV joint it is pretty easy just time consuming & i would do the hub seals while your there.Either the Tough Dog or the Superior adjustable uppers are good just not cheap.Hope this is all correct & helpfull,if not there is plenty of Guru"s on here that are much smarter than me!!

·
Registered
227 Posts
From what I know, which isn't a lot, the longer arms are for correcting the pinion angle after a lift, but I believe the prefered method is for the adjustable uppers and standard length lower control arms so you are heading in the right direction.