Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1993 GQ TD42
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I've gone and got the GQ checked over and all the suspension and steering is buggered (as presumed). I've now got to hunt for a new steering box (arm and ball joints cooked), and suspension. I've been researching and scouring these forums but the more I look and discover the harder it gets to determine what's actually decent, and what's not.

So far I've got my eye on a 3" lift from Superior. Superior Nitro Gas Superflex 3 Inch Lift Kit Suitable For Nissan Patrol GQ (Kit) | Superior Engineering

Am I safe with this? Just worried that I'm going above and beyond with it. It will be taken offroad, camping and on long trips away (planning a trip to Darwin next year), but I'm no professional 4WDer. Am I better off going with something cheaper like a toughdog lift? Need somebody experienced in this field to help me out with this, I've got no mates into this kind of thing and Facebook groups mostly just stay silent on anything I post.

Thanks in advance legends.

·
Registered
1998 Nissan Patrol Wagon RD28ETi
182 Posts
If you are going 3 inch, you could get away without the superflex arms and run either offset bushes or radius plates. For 4wdriving 3 inch coils and 4 inch shocks for better flex. Superior are pretty much the top the food chain, however Tough Dog, Ironman, Old Man Emu and Roadsafe are fairly reliable cheaper alternatives. Just make sure you use genuine bushes where you can as most aftermarket don't seem to last very long. The dropout cones you probably won't need unless you are running disconnected sway bars.

If you need to replace the steering box, try and get a GU steering box as they are a bit tougher than the GQ steering box.

Parts I have for my 3.5 inch lift in my series 1 GU wagon (all these parts are interchangeable with GQ wagon):
3.5 inch coils (1 coil cut of each to reduce from 4" to 3.5") - Dobinson Std flexys