Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so im looking for technical help with my 98 gu rd28 in regards to the timing of the pump and the readouts via a scantool

I gave a rough bash at fiddling with timing, not having the time or dial gauge to measure the pump lift properly, what i did have was a scan tool and a readout of the timing while running at idle with engine at temp, it was -3.5° to -4.3° when its meant to be -9.5° to -12° so i tried just loosening the adjuster nuts and turning the pump 3-5mm either way and it barely did anything to the timing

Im new to fiddling with diesels in this aspect, mechanic by trade but we’ve never had to fix anything like this, it’s got me stumped as to why the timing is being retarded from where it should be

I’ve done the basics like checking afm, that seems to be an r33 item already
I did the timing belt not long after getting it and marks were all correct
Ive changed the fuel filter and inspected the main tank which is clean and breathers are working as they should
I disconnected the lift pump for the sub tank as the sub tank filler neck has a hole in it and this thing has seen some water depths with previous owners

The previous owner had mentioned they had hot starting issues at one point, but since i did the starter and glow plugs she fires to life right away after counting to 6 once the glow light turns off, so thought I’d give an “advance” plate a shot as some people had found that fixed sluggish and high fuel use problems, to which it retarded pump timing to 6.5° ATDC

I’ve also found my injector pump duty to be at 70-80% rather than around 50% it should be at idle

I have read a couple posts where people have done their timing belts and found the pump to be out a tooth or two, have set it back to where it should be and then suddenly power and fuel economy have gone out the window