Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, this is my first time using any forum and I was hoping if I could get any advice from people who have personally LS swapped their car. As of right now, I am stuck between a 6.0 and a 6.2, my main goal is to have an extremely reliable, daily driven engine that can go around town and travels without having any problems. On top of that, one of the most important things is fuel mileage (sick and tired of the thirsty 4.8 v6), which engine gives me better fuel mileage? and what is the average l/100km? and finally, I am looking for around 300-350Kw stock form. If I can't have the best of all world then I'll just stick with fuel mileage and reliability. I would also like to know the exact name of the engine (like l94, LQ4, L98 Etc...) and also if it's an iron or aluminum block

Any reply would be appreciated cheers.

·
Registered
CRD Wagon
1,094 Posts
I'd go L98.

6ltr displacement
Easy to find
NO D.O.D.
Aluminium block
I believe the heads support good power better than LS2 spec with a tune.
I have one in a Commodore and economy is not it's strong point.
I dodnt see the advantage over 4,8

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'd go L98.

6ltr displacement
Easy to find
NO D.O.D.
Aluminium block
I believe the heads support good power better than LS2 spec with a tune.
I have one in a Commodore and economy is not it's strong point.
I dodnt see the advantage over 4,8
Will there by any issues if it’s automatic?

·
Registered
nissan
970 Posts
No V8 Patrol is likely to have good fuel economy nor is any conversion likely to be ultra reliable. Only the LS3 makes 300+kw in stock form, the L98 is 270. Assuming your 4.8 is in good shape then a turbo kit is probably a better option. Certainly cheaper in the long run. The Nissan auto is unlikely to work properly with an LS, better to use a GM auto.

·
Registered
CRD Wagon
1,094 Posts