Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Nissan
568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner HAM keen to buy a dual band/quad band radio for the truck for remote areas and long distance, emergency, also during outages of other communications in possible SHTF scenarios. Given also the recent National fire emergency, having the ability to listen to fireground/dispatch radio etc. Know whats really happening not the BS the media dribbles out with delay and all the whit holding of info that could save lives in real time etc.

So I really want a quad band with scanning function, been looking at the TYT 9800 $329 on eBay, which I'm aware does not have the 220mhz band but has 2m,6m,10, and 440mhz UHF. I would prefer to wide berth China on this one though and pay more, so if anyone can suggest. Obviously Icom, Yaesu, Kenwood is the way to go, any suggestions and prices, places to buy etc ?.

Particularly not interested in GPS and Bluetooth functions in fact prefer without

I already have a decent UHF so if there something good that does 2m,6m,10, 220mhz or what have you ?

Interested in any advice, links and interested in a one antenna solution if possible

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
GU 2007 Cab Chassis Leafie, 6.5L Chev diesel, manual, slide on Tommy Camper on back
244 Posts
Hi @NissTorq, which amateur radio licence class have you got?

·
Registered
Nissan
568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Greetings @Monkey63 I understand about licensing with WIA. I'm currently studying for the foundational license. A few friends are licensed.

Had let this fall away from some years back when I was in the process then lost interest so I have an interest as a beginner. AFAIK it's legal to own a radio for RX until licensed, correct?

How about yourself ? Can you share any knowledge please ?

·
Registered
GU 2007 Cab Chassis Leafie, 6.5L Chev diesel, manual, slide on Tommy Camper on back
244 Posts