Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
nissan GU2
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to give a huge thankyou to all the contributers on this forum.:D

Without the questions from the newbies and knowledge passed down from the seniors, I would'nt have got my GU back on the road without spending huge $$$$.

At the beginning of the year I was the proud owner of a '02 3L GU...happily driving down the highway when the 'Grenade' dropped a piston. I had only owned the truck for 7000 k's and had no idea about the reputation of the ZD30:rolleyes:
I took it too a mechanic and he said it could cost $10,000 or more for a rebuild depending how much damage was done inside...I was stunned!!...was he taking the piss!?!:confused: so I rang around and it was pretty much the same everywhere.
So the Patrol sat in the corner while I researched possible alternatives....e.g. reco exchange, engine conversions e.t.c.....all the time I studied up on the ZD, starting with googling 'Diesel" because I did;nt even understand how they were different from petrol engines!!

Anyway...I bought an Elleries manual, some basic tools, a rebuilt '05 ZD engine off ebay(no accessories inc.) and proceeded to fix the bloody thing myself!!!!
Well after pulling the stuffed donk out of the truck 2 weeks ago, I took my time switching all the gear over to the new block....mmm...theres alot of bloody cogs to line up on the front of an engine eh?:confused:
Today I turned the key for the first time in 3.5 months...it was a nail bitting experience...BUT...it fired up straight away!!! YAAFUGGINHOOO!!!!...no fault codes present and purring like a kitten(tractor like kitten)
Tmr I will put on the Pro-vent, Dawes valve and guages....run it all in then take it off-road again next week.
The whole shebang cost me lots of time....and only $3500 turn-key:p

Thanks again to every one for posting tonnes of useful and important info on this site~~~~
The Pheonix rises again!! :driving:

·