Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
nissan patrol
1,195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so title says what I mean, but what do I mean?

I would like to take 10 min of your time to talk about contractors

I am a contractor, have been for nearly 13 months.

This is what gets me boiled over. I have not had any sick leave, I am not entitled to it, I have not had a Holiday, I am not entitled to it. I have had days off due to family issues, I did not get paid. I have Public holidays off, I did not get paid.

Why did I start this thread?

Good question!!

I have held a full time job for many a good year, 12 in fact. with a Telco, and we had contractors in t perform roles. Roles which I would not pay any team member a pittance to perform. Clerical, Chore inducing,headache producing, mundane everyday roles.

Did I appreciate these members?...................No, these guys, of which i am now one are your unsung hero's. We do the chit you won't, we work for less, are not entitled to anything, and heaven forbid we need a day off.

Yes. some will say we are compensated for this by a higher pay rate. I am here to tell you this is a lie, most of us are employed from $20 to $25 an hour. Some recruitment agencies will tell us this is well above a base salary. I will agree, it is above the $15-18 base wage, but and here is the BUT. Look at any Full time employee wages, include the perks, Sick leave 4 weeks annual leave etc, and tell me any contractor is being paid fairly!!

So next time you are in the office, have a look around, see that contractor there, he or she is a big part of your team, they are giving everything they have to making the business that employs you a success.