Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Nissan
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening Forumites looking for a little guidance as I am a bit of a noob when comes to sparky stuff!
The situation is I have a 1998 GU TB45 dual fuel and I am keen to install a 12v outlet in the rear cargo area to run Waeco CFX 40 fridge with view to expand to other things like lighting in the future. To keep things simple and pretty numpty proof the plan is to run directly from the battery 8b&s cable with an inline fuse through the firewall into the cabin behind the panels and trim to the rear LHS internal inspection panel.
The big questions I have are as follows....
1. I know this one will sound dumb but here goes how is the best way to get the cable through the fire wall with out going making a hash of it.

2. What sized fuse should I be looking at ?

3. Is the plan a sound one or is the missus likely to find a pile of ashes?

Any feedback or guidance would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
Nissan 2002 GU TD42 Coil Cab
255 Posts
Mokman,
Do you already have a tow bar and trailer plug on your vehicle.
Much simpler to pick up the power wire from the plug and run it to your inspection panel.

Cheers

·
Registered
nissan patrol
76 Posts
This has been covered many times before but I will try and give you a quick run down. The better solution is to run the twin core cable through the grommet on the passenger side fire wall down alone the sill panels to somewhere in the rear, I would run it to a fuse block then you can fuse each outlet individually. If running to a fuse block you can then run smaller size cable from the fuse block to the ciggy plugs anywhere in huge car. Make sure you fuse the main cable at the battery I.e. If your running 100amp cable fuse it with a 50/60 amp fuse. This method is very brief and there is probably a better way but this is similar to how I did mine

·
Registered
nissan patrol
5 Posts