Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So how long till we see these mini led projector clusters as a retrofit?

They are in the public transport busses here in Perth (I drive them for a living)

They work pretty good, nice light output and spreads well. Interestingly they use a halogen high beam separate.

·
Rust is just natural weight reduction.
1986 SD33T SWB
11,018 Posts
How is the light penetration compared to a standard halogen?
I would imagine it to not be as good, and hence the separate halogen high beam.

·
LED ZEPPELIN
1995 GQ TD42 NA
12,022 Posts
Terrific for urban stuff, is my guess. Although there are motorcycles available now with full LED headlights. No experience with those.

·
Registered
nissan patrol
76 Posts
What depot are you at Carlman, I also work for the buses in Perth

·
Registered
nissan patrol
1,893 Posts
You probably wont see it as they don't have great high beam which is the reason for them not having high beams on most cases. Yes LED looks great but Lexus and Audi are already working on new technology to replace it as it's never really been that much of a success overseas. I think the main reason is how blinding the colour is in rain and snow have been the main complaints and distance. Low beam in good weather is fine though.

I know in the US there are guys converting there LED projectors to HID as they haven't been happy with the performance. The LED projectors and cooling sinks behind the lights are huge to so retrofitting them would be limited to only a handful of cars and would need some serious mods to make it work.

Cheers Mick

·
Registered
nissan
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the lengthy reply Mick, I had hoped you'd chime in : )

Bradsuter, I work for Transdev out of Joondalup depot, pm me mate

·
Registered
nissan patrol GQ
8,025 Posts
there are quite a few motorbike kits with LED 7" replacements (eg kuryakyn) as well as 4" drl's