Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
when i try and star it in the morning its a bit hard to start when i turn it over a few time it starts puffing whit smoke all around the motor can someone tell me what this means when it starts it is OK its only in the morning and i notice oil leak in the turbo going up to air cleaner can somebody help me

·
Rusty, but Trusty. Most of the time
nissan
1,185 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

Your starting troubles will most likely be glow plugs, these motors love a glow before they start.

·
Registered
nissan
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
OK thanks for that i also have an oil leak that coming from turbo to the air cleaner and going down the pipes that hook to the turbo and can some body tell me if its normal to have diesel fumes coming out oil filler cap when cap is off when running i am new to diesel and there probably stupid questions

·
Registered
nissan
778 Posts
Mate welcome to the forum ,
The oil in the intake is just blow-by it's normal.

The fumes from under the oil cap is not diesel that is also blow-by it's not really worth worrying about.

·
Registered
nissan
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
thanks mate the only problem is its dripping oil on the ground from the turbo so how do i stop it from leaking because its going from turbo up to air cleaner and leaking out of all clamps and going down so i was hoping it is not anything serious it doesn't lose much oil 4 or drips a day

·
Registered
nissan
778 Posts
Sounds like it's getting alot of blow-by.
The oil can only get into the intake one way that's from the rocker cover.

Have you taken the intake pipes off to give them a clean?

·
Registered
nissan
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·