Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
nissan patrol gq
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Turbo89GQ’s write up of his Garrett turbo project on this forum really inspired me to go ahead with my own turbo project for my LWB TD42 Mav.
The idea of this post is to show that you can install a new turbo system in your Patrol with virtually no fabrication.
For a start, here are the criteria for what I wanted to achieve with installing a turbo:
- It had to be a bolt in job. Major fabrication like dump pipe or exhaust was out of the question as I am a driveway mechanic with no means of fabricating major bits and pieces. I also thought, I could save a bit of money if I didn’t have to get my truck trailered to an exhaust shop and get them to do a custom job.
- I was looking for a turbo setup, which favours reliability over performance.
- I wanted a turbo with virtually no lag and low down boost.
- I also wanted better fuel economy as my Vic Alp trips averaged to 25l off road.
- I wanted a low mount configuration as I have a dual battery system installed.

It took me quite a while to research all the bits and pieces. After reading the mentioned build thread here and talking to s couple of people, I decided to go with the Garrett GT2860rs with a DTS manifold (I didn’t like the performance characteristics of most kits as I wanted something that kicked in at 1200 – 1400 rpm).

One funny thing, I noticed when I rang around to price all the bits and pieces was that the price would jump up by approx. $1k when the word ‘kit’ was mentioned. This was another reason why I choose putting my own kit together.
I started getting a compression and leakage test done by my workshop. The results were very promising: Compression test: 460 470 460 460 470 460 -- Leakage test: 10% 7% 8.5% 6 9% 7.5%
Not too bad for an engine with 350k on it J.