Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I am new to 4WD and still learing about the car
I have a 92 Ford Maverick and it has just been serviced 300km ago
I found there is some oil leak onto the floor which is located on the right engine bay
I take a look into it and found the oil seems to be leaking from a tube closed to the battery

May I ask where will be the potential leaking point and what I should do to sort it out?

Attachments

·
Registered
151 Posts
That's power steering fluid and appears to be leaking from the hose or a fitting higher up. Best option is to give it a good degrease then run the engine and turn steering back and forward until you see where the leak is coming from.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for all of your reply, I am now having a more clear target after the hints. For the degrease part may I know what detergent would be used on those greasy part?

·
Registered
GQ 1992 TD42 NA lwb
918 Posts
Thanks for all of your reply, I am now having a more clear target after the hints. For the degrease part may I know what detergent would be used on those greasy part?
Spray on degreaser any parts store or supercheap auto sell the can for $2.50, buy a couple spray on leave for 5 or so mins hose off on a COLD engine.

·
Registered
942 Posts
Don't use additives, if it's the hose itself that's damaged take it to a hydraulic hose place like pertek or similar and get a new hose, otherwise get a new one from nissan or a second hand hose from a wrecker.

·
Registered
GQ 1992 TD42 NA lwb
918 Posts
Don't use additives, if it's the hose itself that's damaged take it to a hydraulic hose place like pertek or similar and get a new hose, otherwise get a new one from nissan or a second hand hose from a wrecker.
As its a high pressure hose i would advise to buy new only, also new washers on the banjo fitting on the powersteering pump, new they cost $60-70.

·