Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hi peeps. First I hope that those of you in affected areas are safe from those catastrophic fires.....

I'm assuming the very worst with my Patrol. Piston busted.

As you know or may not know, I'm a novice.

I'm asking if it would be possible for someone like me to attempt replacing a piston block, pistons, etc.

No way I can attempt this now, way too cold.
I'm sure some of you have done this.
Can it be done with Engine in place, tools?

Many thanks, keep safe.
Best
馃嵑

Registered
nissan
Hi peeps. First I hope that those of you in affected areas are safe from those catastrophic fires.....

I'm assuming the very worst with my Patrol. Piston busted.

As you know or may not know, I'm a novice.

I'm asking if it would be possible for someone like me to attempt replacing a piston block, pistons, etc.

No way I can attempt this now, way too cold.
I'm sure some of you have done this.
Can it be done with Engine in place, tools?

Many thanks, keep safe.
Best
馃嵑
Hi again ChipFryer,
Firstly, you need to determine why you may have a damaged piston.
The piston crowns are cooled with oil from squirters. I notice you said things got bad going up a hill - this is when the pistons are at their hottest.
If the pistons receive inadequate oil from the squirters, they will overheat and possibly grab in the bore and separate.
For some time now you have had oil pressure issues which have not been addressed. I expressed my concern some time back as to your situation.
Without adequate oil pressure, your engine will experience catastrophic failure.
If my original suspicions are correct (ie a plug has come out of the crank oil gallery) then, no, the engine will need to be removed.
The crank will need to be inspected, possibly machined but definitely grub-screwed. The oil pump drive will also need to be inspected.