Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Nissan Patrol GU4 2006 with Cummins ISDE4.5 270HP , 830 NM Engine Conversion
2,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
looks like the time to replace my battery ( which is about 6 and half years old standard 700cca repco one). just wondering which brand of battery should i buy? also there are two types of them, the standard ( old style) and the maintenance free (MF) one. i have never used a MF battery before. with the standard one i need to check water ,etc in about every 3 months. has anyone used the MF battery which you really dont need to check things like water level at all?

·
Registered
nissan
1,818 Posts
Try doing a search on here for previous posts you'll find stacks of batteries that have been recommended it just depends how much you want to spend etc.

·
Registered
506 Posts
I would go for the Repco one again..Six and a half years is not bad.

I doubt you would get better life out of something similar.

More expensive batteries you might, but then you would have to weigh up the difference.

·
Registered
3,612 Posts
Repco are a reseller, the battery you bought 6 1/2 years ago may be from a completely different manufacturer or it may be from the same who knows. Personally I would stick to one of the leading brands.

·
Registered
2,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
thanks guys for all inputs. finally bought Century Ultra Endurance 4wd battery 760CCA $229 from supercheap. with 2 year warranty. car starts instantly .......
Note, the previous setup was two parallel connection. so 6 1/2 years for 2 batteries. i have now removed the 2nd battery connection. with only one installed. will see how it goes....

·
Y61=WIN
nissan
3,003 Posts