Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,

Just purchased one of these gauges (http://www.redarc.com.au/products/product/monitoring-gauges_g52-pwt/) and not sure where to install the sensors on a GU 4.2TDi.
Anyone got a pic of where both of these sensors get installed?

At the moment i have them run through to the engine bay rolled up and cable tied out the way.

Cheers
Bruce

·
Registered
GQ Dual Cab. TD42Ti with fruit.
4,526 Posts
I am not an expert on the TD42T, but the TD42 has coolant sensors in the thermostat housing, one for the factory temp gauge and one for the glow plugs. My housing had room for me to tap a thread and install the third sensor for my Autometer gauge.

As for the oil pressure, I would use an adaptor to fit it to the factory oil sender on the oil filter housing. Use a T piece so both the new gauge and the factory oil light still work.

·
Doing It My Way
nissan
1,774 Posts
Hello,

Just purchased one of these gauges (http://www.redarc.com.roducts/product/monitoring-gauges_g52-pwt/) and not sure where to install the sensors on a GU 4.2TDi.
Anyone got a pic of where both of these sensors get installed?

At the moment i have them run through to the engine bay rolled up and cable tied out the way.

Cheers
Bruce
OK, so your oil pressure should be 1/8 npt but did you choose 1/8 npt or 1/4 npt for your water temperature seder? I'll put some pictures up of my Install for you.where did you mount the gauge?

·
Doing It My Way
nissan
1,774 Posts
Ok, I fitted mine in the same place as ABM but I re taped my threads instead of using adapter fittings. The
hex head bung that abm want to war with, lol, is tight but there are a couple of things you can do.
1: make sure you have the right size Alan key before you apply any pressure, a hex drive on a ratchet works even better.
2: spray with a penotrating oil even days before hand helps.