Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm finally getting round to installing a dual battery system I've got everything but a battery was just wondering what people's opinions are on the best types

09 GU Patrol standard

88 VX Sahara twin locked on 35's & lifted

·
Registered
Nissan/GU
1,083 Posts
I have optima yellow tops as they suit my needs. It all depends on your type of use, eg. how long do you go away for? are you likely to sit in the one spot for many days or do you drive most days? What sort of accessories are you using, fridge sizes etc. Are you likely to want to use your second battery as a start battery at some stage, eg winching or jumpstarting?

I'm no expert but these are just some of the things you may need to consider, for instance I would generally go away for a weekend or out to a week. But I would be driving most days so the batteries would get charged up again, the yellow tops charge back quite quick, whereas a deep cycle would take a lot longer. I have a 40l engel, arb compressor and some other basic 4by accessories, nothing too huge which would need a large battery capacity, but a standard starting battery just doesn't have the amp/hours that I wanted. I have a optima D34 (55a/h) as my start battery (over 5 years old and still working) and just got a D31 (75 a/h) for my auxiliary. If and when the D34 dies, I'll replace it with another D31.

They are a fair bit dearer than a standard N70 but do have a larger a/h and also come with the CCA for dual purpose starting/winching and capacity. Also I have had an exide N70 die pretty quick under the bonnet and am yet to kill the optima in both main and aux battery locations.

If you go away for a week and sit in the one spot I would definitely be looking at deep cycle and solar, also if you are running 2 large fridges or other heavy drain accessories where you would need capacity.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·