Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
580 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I've been doing some thinking about my 4.8, i recently changed to 3:9 diffs in my auto and it drives much better. I also noticed my fuel consumption has dropped around 20%. A conversation I had last weekend made me realise something bout the 4.8 engine. It seems us auto owners think that our auto's are weak and that's why the TCU lets the torque converter slip a lot. However that does not seem to be the case. Below 2200rpm the engine has almost no power(according to the owner of a manual 4.8 that i was talking to), so in an attempt to use its power the TCU lets the auto slip to let the revs climb. So imo the aim of the game should be to keep the engine in a rev range which provides enough power so the ECU does not tell the TCU to disengage the torque converter.
(disclaimer: I'm not a mechanic, and these are my personal findings on a 2002 4.8 auto. Standard air intake+snorkel, PVA mod, cruise mod, 3:9 diffs, 33's, 2" lift, front and rear bar, roof rack and awning, and an idiot hoon driving it on petrol. Gas will be stripped off it in 2 weeks time).

So, i used to get 22-24L/100km. Best ever was 19.5L/100 while on the highway. That improved a little with the 3:9's but nothing drastic. So the following was a recent experiment I did that returned 17L/100 and me still refusing to drive like gramps.
Never drive in D, always tiptronic.
Keep rpm over 2200 at all times, ideally between 2500 and 2700.
Before putting the foot down use the tiptronic to down shift and give the auto 2sec to engage (like you would in a manual).
Have the attitude that ever time the torque converter is slipping fuel is being wasted.