Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys

just wondering how hard it would be to rebuild a old td42 engine?? i have never done anything like this before but i am pretty good with my hands and would like to give it a go, great way to learn all about the motor aswell i supose

what would i need and what would be the hardest things to do i no that some parts i may not be able to do and may have to send it off to be done but i would like to do most of the work myself.

i want to build up a GU comp truck/weekend warrior of soughts and want to do most of the work myself, so WHEN i break something i can fix it, thats the plan anyway

cheers luke

·
Registered
nissan
113 Posts
Buy a GQ/GU repair manual from repco or the like, this will give you an idea of the tools required, step by step instructions to pull down and reassemble the motor, the sequence and torque settings. Everything else will be done by a machine shop. All tolerances and settings you should check twice, don't rush or it will cost money.

If you know someone that's rebuilt a motor before, even better if it was a 4.2td, then asked them to give you a hand as experience is always handy to have. Ask questions if your not sure, there's plenty of people here i'm sure will help as we've all had to start from somewhere.

·
Banned
2,050 Posts
Hi,

For practice I would suggest getting an old 4 cylinder Jap motor. Carby, starter and dizzy with it. You can pull it apart and put it back together and see if it runs. Any mistake and you havnt wasted a lot of money. Get a gearbox as well. ( same deal ) You can re-use the head gasket and make the rest out of a Cornflakes box.

The engine will run if you have a coil connected by some jumper wires, and you can even give it a hone, plus practice removing the rings. ( breaking 1 fitting is a bummer ! )

This will give some confidence, and you wont be as stressed when you do the Patrol.

Regards B M

·