Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
I'm pretty new to all of this but I just bought myself a UHF and I would like to know whether anyone thinks it's feasible to power it with power from the electrical seats in my Ti. This way, it won't run off the accessories power (the seats can be adjusted even when ignition is "off"). Would it involve a lot, like adding fuses/wiring? Just as some background, I'm running a GPS plus my iPod off the ciggie lighter so I don't really want to put more stress on that one outlet.
Cheers,

Joostoz

·
Registered
nissan patrol
1,364 Posts
personally id just run a line to the battery and fuse that as close as you can to the battery, When you say you have electric seats is that motor operated or heated seats? If its heated id say no, but if its just motor operated it should be alright if you turn the uhf off when moving the seat, i dont think you'll burn the wiring out, i think you'll just get interferance when moving the seat with the uhf on, there shouldnt be a need to run a fuse as the seat will already be fused

·
Registered
NISSAN GU PATROL
694 Posts
Id just run a dedicated line from the battery and fuse it, the UHF sucks a fair bit of power on TX

·
Registered
nissan
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi,
It's just motor operated, not heated. to be honest, we never move the seats since my wife and I are almost the same height, so interference wouldn't really be an issue i'd think. Running a dedicated line from the battery will be interesting, the Ti doesn't seem to allow a lot of easy wiring to be done from the engine compartment to the cabin (unless I haven't found the right spaces yet).
thanks so far!

·
Registered
nissan patrol
1,823 Posts
I don't have powered seats but I got the plugs so I wired it up to it with a fuse and no problem. I got my UHF under the centre console so it's nice and close plus it's a constant supply

·
Registered
nissan