Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
Nissan
1,260 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Was just thinking, if one wanted to maximise torque output through a turbo upgrade ('06 4.2 TDI), rather than concentrating on increasing horsepower, how different would the turbo parts be? The reason I ask is because I rarely see 3000RPM onroad (offroad's another matter):) but living in mountainous Tassie, torque is really important.

·
Registered
GQ Dual Cab. TD42Ti with fruit.
5,157 Posts
Hmmmmm..........

Ok, I am no expert, but I think you need to clarify things a bit here. I think that the biggest turbo you can bolt on will give you the largest torque figure, as well as horsepower, being that horsepower is a multiplication of torque.

Having said that, the driveability may not be very good, and I think that this is what you are referring to. So if you want a turbo that spools up at low revs and produces a flat torque curve then that is a different matter.

·
Registered
Nissan
1,260 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Drivability is paramount. Maximum horsepower is not. Need it to spool up at low revs. Wouldn't use maximum power as I don't sit anywhere near redline.

·
bit cold out it seems
nissan
9,258 Posts
Best TD42T i ever drove was quite slow (not much quicker than a well tuned Atmo version to be honest) but had no lag whatsoever and didn't matter what gear you were in, put your foot down and it would just start pulling. It didn't feel stressed at all. Just felt like thats how it was meant to be.

Was a Safari turbo system AFAIK.

·
Registered
3,017 Posts
chip+ 3"exhaust and it will spool lower
Cant chip a TD42Ti

I would PM Madrolla (Matt) on this forum as i believe he works for a Injection company in Perth who have a lot of experience in TD42 injection & Turbo modifications

Regards Don

·
Registered
378 Posts