Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
nissan 04 gu leaf cab chassis
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
Hoping someone can help me out here, i've just had a new set of steelies put onto my ute(leaf rear) to replace the split rims as they used to vibrate a wee bit. However the vibration still occurs when i reach 90-100 kmh, a bit worse now(maybe due to the larger surface area hugging the road?)
The wheels where balanced and aligned when fitted and i am starting to think the vibrations may be shock absorbers? am i right or is it something completely different?

·
Registered
nissan patrol
3 Posts
Hi Tubz
I work in the wheel and tyre industry Nissan Patrols ard known to be a bit of a shaker, What wheel and what brand tyre did you put on? Some tyre brands can have heavy spots and some are not as round as you may think. I would start with match mounting the tyres to the rims and wire brush the junk from the wheel hubs(this should give you a clean flat surface for your rim to sit against) try that firts before spending $ on shocks, dampers,bushes,and bits.

good luck mate

ps check your front wheel bearings for adjustment.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hey john, the wheels are just plain white avanti brand ones i think. the tyres are toyo a/t open countrys (265) and are lt specification. I might try that on the weekend if i can borrow a mated jack . i will be getting a lift kit in the next few months though so im hoping that fixes the problem in the long run :S

·
Registered
Nissan
255 Posts
I had this problem once my steelies were put one...it all comes down to the wheel balancing, it has to be done perfectly otherwise wheel vibrations and shaking will happen..The tyre place who supplied my new steelies and bf at's had 3 goes at balancing the wheels and was no good, took it to another tyre place and he got the balancing spot on and all was good

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·