Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
nissan
11,208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all
Out in the shed playing with the mig today. Anyway I have come to the conclusion that there is something wrong with it. The unit is an older unimig craft 180. Prob round the 10 yr old mark. But with not ALOT of use in the last 8 or so.
Anyway was welding up some 2mm box section and basically had the thing on decks highest power setting and approx 2 3/4 put of 10 wire speed and was really struggling for penetration. Now I'm only a novice but I would have thought a 180 amp mig and the second highest setting would be blowing holes in that kind of material. Or am I barking up the wrong tree.
It's an argon mix with.9mm wire. Mild steel.
Any ideas.
Thanks

·
Registered
nissan
4,831 Posts
Does it leave blob type weld on top with little to no penetration?
My CIG was doing this, described as cold weld in owners manual, it turned out to be a faulty power diode, had to replace the complete diode pack to fix.

·
Registered
nissan patrol
2,149 Posts
Had simalar with mine, found I had to run heavy wire to power point 6mm square.
Was ok after that. also if using an extension lead you will get voltage drop.
I have also had the problem of where the gun/lead connects to the mechine it does not quite make a good electrical connection, this gives a impression that its running at lower amps.
They are good when working but a pain in the ass when not.

cheers

·
Registered
nissan patrol gu
23 Posts
try taking off some of the covers and give it a good blow out, sounds too simple i know but it may help

·
Registered
nissan
11,208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
alright so general concensus is lack of power.
its i will admit only running thru a 10amp plug. but the bloke i bought it off said it had run like this all its life and was always fine. but would definately be worth getting bigger wire installed.