Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
Nissan
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
I thought Id get an un-biased opinion from people who dont know me..Well here goes, after years of randomnly applying for mining jobs over the net, making phone calls to employment agencies, I applied for a mining job after stumbling across it because I was all annoyed with the rain that wont stop here at the moment.
A week later, I got an email back with a date to attend a assesment centre.. I attended that an didnt think too much of it as there 150 other people.
Today I got an email to say yes I have the job and will be put through to training within 3 months. Dump truck driver, 5 on 5 off at Blackwater (2 hours from where I live), $110k a year, 6 weeks holiday..this obviously means I would only work 4.5months of the year!!!

Now the reason I have a hard decision to make is because I am a self employed bobcat operator and have been for the past 6 years, business has had its ups and downs (big down in the GFC) and generally speaking going pretty good.

I have always wanted to go to the mines and play with the big gear but it is so hard to get an oppurtunity now I got that oppurtunity I dont know if I could handle being away from my wife (wife works full time) and 3 kids for 5 days at a time but could do bobcat work on my days off while the mrs is at work..

$110k a year guaranteed is pretty tempting, what do you guys think?

·
Registered
Nissan
97 Posts
Do it, good thing about working for someone else is you can leave at the end of the day, or quit-while they get all the stress and responsibility.
look at it this way- while your away from home more, the time you're back will be better quality- off work and cashed up.

·
Registered
nissan patrol gu 4x4
980 Posts
The family side of the equation is the big one! The money is, like you say, guaranteed. would you earn that bobcating? Will the opportunity come again?
In the end, only you can chose