Patrol 4x4 - Nissan Patrol Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
nissan patrol gq
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
I have recently purchased a 2000 GU II ZD30 intercooled.
It has a 3" exhaust, SW chip, dawes valve and needle valve setup as well as a blocked EGR.
I've set up the dawes valve tonight and took it for a spin and it'll boost up to 19-20 psi and it pulls like a freight train. The only downside is 5 seconds later car is in limp mode.
Now my question is what is the max safe boost that can be run? I know of the anti limp devices out there but wonder if they are worth it. Is running 20 psi under acceleration ok or will this be too much to handle for the engine? If that is an acceptable level of boost I'll turn my attention to such a device.
Also what is the maximum EGT one would want to see? I'm new to the whole diesel thing and with the reputation of ZD30 in the back of my mind I'd love to know what is safe and what should ring alarm bells?
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
nissan patrol gq
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So the boost should never go over 18 correct? I'm getting 20 at full throttle. It smoked before hand and this has all but fixed it so I thought I was on the right track. To adjust it down do you screw in or out and to lose 2 psi how many turns approx should I be going? I won't hold you to it just a base line to start with.
Is there a fix for the dodgy afm?

·
Registered
nissan
197 Posts
mine is setup to 15psi max. id rather run it a bit lower so i know for sure its not going to go into limp mode when im crawling up a massive hill or something. i get between 270-330 EGTs when cruising on the freeway at 100kph.

·
Registered
nissan patrol gq
306 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I tune most of the pre CRD only to about 16-18psi tops. They still have the dodgy afm that causes problems with fuel delivery.
Do you run into limp mode problems when tuned at 18psi?

·
Registered
9,513 Posts